Words on this page


‘Diocese’ refers to the geographical territory in which a bishop exercises oversight. The Church in Wales is divided into six dioceses each with its own cathedral in which is housed the cathedra (the bishop’s ‘chair’ or ‘throne’).

Holy Communion

At Holy Communion blessed bread and wine is shared, by which we receive the body and blood of Jesus Christ. The congregation gives thanks for Jesus’ life, his death and resurrection and his continuing presence. See also Eucharist.

Home Mission and Evangelism Eco Church Eco Churches in the diocese

Eco Churches in the diocese

Registered Eco Churches in the Diocese

Christchurch, Swansea

St Michael and All Angels, Manselton

St Catherine Gorseinon

St Cennydd, Llangennith

St Thomas & St Stephen Swansea

St Cynog Ystradgynlais

All Saints, Oystermouth

St John, Gowerton

St Illtyd, Ilston

Registered Eco Churches who’ve gained the Bronze Award

Swansea & Brecon Diocesan Office

St Mary Swansea

St Paul, Sketty, Swansea

Capel Coelbren

Ss David & Cyfelach, Llangyfelach

St Michael Loughor

St Paulinus, Llangors

St Mary, Brecon

St Edmund, Crickhowell

St James, Swansea

St Catwg Llangattock

St Peter, Cockett

St Illtyd, Fforestfach

Holy Cross, West Cross

Clyne Chapel

Registered Eco Churches who have gained a Silver Award

St David Loughor

Brecon Cathedral

St Gabriel's, Swansea

St Gastyn, Llangasty